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Notification of Intent To Readopt Emergency Regulations  
Electronic document filing and lien filing fee rules – September 11, 2013 

  
September 11, 2013 

 
  

NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO READOPT EMERGENCY REGULATIONS  
 

Subject: Electronic document filing and lien filing fee rules  
 

 
The Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) 
proposes to readopt the emergency regulations that were adopted effective January 1, 
2013 (OAL File No. 2012-1219-01E) affecting and implementing electronic document 
filing and lien filing fee rules. The emergency regulations can be found at sections 10205, 
10205.12, 10206, 10206.1, 10206.2, 10206.3, 10206.4, 10206.5, 10206.14, 10206.15, 
10207, and 10208 in Subchapter 1.8.5 of Chapter 4.5, of Title 8 California Code of 
Regulations. The emergency action also incorporates by reference the Electronic 
Adjudication Management System (EAMS) Reference Guide and Instructional Manual for 
E-Form Filers (EAMS E-Form Filing Reference Guide), dated January 1, 2013, and the  
Electronic Adjudication Management System JET File Business Rules and Technical 
Specifications, Version 4.0, dated January 1, 2013.   

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 52(c), DWC is incorporating by 
reference the rulemaking file, OAL File No. 2012-1219-01E, filed with the Office of 
Administrative Law (OAL) on December 19, 2012, for the initial adoption of the 
emergency regulations.   
 
Pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 52(b)(1), DWC has made 
progress and proceeded with diligence to comply with Government Code section 
11346.1(e).  On February 8, 2013, the Notice of Proposed Action for the above-described 
regulations was published in the California Regulatory Notice Register.  DWC 
correspondingly posted all required rulemaking materials on its website and mailed the 
notice to the DWC interested parties list.  On March 26, 2013, DWC conducted an open, 
regulatory hearing on the proposed electronic document filing and lien filing fee 
regulations. Following the public hearing, DWC staff diligently reviewed extensive 
comments submitted during the 45-day public comment period, has been working with 
various stakeholders regarding issues related to on the electronic lien filing fees, 
continued to develop a web-based payment process with a vendor that accepts the 
electronic payments, and has considered potential substantive changes including a lien 
fee refund policy that will likely be incorporated during the regular rulemaking process. 
Additionally, on April 16, 2013, the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) 
issued notice of its public hearing to amend its regulations in light of SB 863, including 
definitions and procedures concerning liens and lien filing fee requirements.  Because it is 
necessary that the terms and procedures regarding liens in the DWC regulations are 
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consistent with the regulations promulgated by the WCAB, DWC and the WCAB need to 
coordinate the two agencies’ rulemakings.  On August 27, 2013, DWC issued revised 
regulations for a 15-day comment period that closes on Sept. 11, 2013.  The lien filing 
and activation fee requirements have been in effect since January 1, 2013.  The 
increased volume of lien filing and activation fees electronically filed over the last several 
months has given DWC a unique opportunity to determine how the regulations 
implementing the requirement can be modified and improved.  A readoption of the 
emergency regulations will provide the additional time necessary for DWC to complete 
the regular rulemaking process and Certificate of Completion. 
 
Pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 52(b)(2) there have been no 
changes in emergency circumstances since the original adoption of the emergency 
regulations. 
 
Government Code section 11346.1(a)(2) requires that, at least five working days prior to 
submission of the proposed emergency action to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL), 
the adopting agency provide a notice of the proposed emergency action to every person 
who has filed a request for notice of regulations action with the agency.  After submission 
of the proposed emergency to OAL, OAL shall allow interested persons five calendar 
days to submit comments on the proposed emergency regulations as set forth in 
Government Code section 11349.6. Upon filing, OAL will have ten (10) calendar days 
within which to review and make a decision on the proposed emergency rule.  If 
approved, OAL will file the regulations with the Secretary of State, and the emergency 
regulations will become effective for one hundred and eighty (180) days.  Within the 180-
day effective period, DWC will proceed with a regular rulemaking action, including a 
public comment period.  The emergency regulations will remain in effect during this 
rulemaking action. 
 
Attached to this notice is the specific regulatory language now in place following DWC’s 
emergency action and an updated version of the Finding of Emergency submitted to OAL 
in December 2012.  
 
You may also review the regulatory language and Finding of Emergency on the DWC’s 
website at the following address: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/dwcRulemaking.html 
 
If you have any questions regarding this proposed emergency action, please contact 
Maureen Gray at mgray@dir.ca.gov or (510) 286-0676.   

 
 


